The history of Neubrandenburg's mills can be traced back to the 13th century. A multi-storey brick building with a half-timbered extension stands in front of the Treptower Tor, directly on the Bundesstraße 104. This is the oldest flour mill in the city, the Vierrademühle.

The first documented mention of the mill dates back to 1271, shortly after the town was founded. It was built by a son of the town founder Herbord von Raven, as the simple text on the central building of this historic structure still reminds us today: "Miller Bernhard, son of Herbord, founded this mill in 1287". When the Vierrad mill was built, Lake Tollensesee was raised by around one meter. The original outlet at the northern end of Lake Tollensesee was closed and the upper stream was created as an 860-metre-long canal. The water now flowing over the Oberbach was used to drive the four wooden wheels of the mill. The mill owes its name to these four water wheels. In the 18th century, the mill soon developed into one of the largest mills in Mecklenburg. It has been electrically operated since 1925. The four-wheel mill survived all the turmoil and twists and turns of modern times.Today, the historic building is open to Neubrandenburg residents and guests. A versatile experience area invites you to linger. Gastronomic and cultural facilities have found their place within the historic walls.